top of page
  • norivettecasillas9

Now that I’ve Found You by Kristina Forest


Pages: 336

Published Date: Aug 25, 2020

Genre: YA Contemporary

Synopsis from Goodreads - Following in the footsteps of her überfamous grandma, eighteen-year-old Evie Jones is poised to be Hollywood’s next big star. That is until a close friend’s betrayal leads to her being blacklisted . . .

Fortunately, Evie knows just the thing to save her floundering career: a public appearance with America’s most beloved actress—her grandma Gigi, aka the Evelyn Conaway. The only problem? Gigi is a recluse who’s been out of the limelight for almost twenty years. Days before Evie plans to present her grandma with an honorary award in front of Hollywood’s elite, Gigi does the unthinkable: she disappears. With time running out and her comeback on the line, Evie reluctantly enlists the help of the last person to see Gigi before she vanished: Milo Williams, a cute musician Evie isn’t sure she can trust. As Evie and Milo conduct a wild manhunt across New York City, romance and adventure abound while Evie makes some surprising discoveries about her grandma—and herself.


Content Warnings for underage drinking


Star Rating




 

My Review

This book is set in the same world as the authors previous book “I Wanna Be Where You Are” but it’s not necessary for you to read it to pick this one up.

I stumbled upon this book while researching for my monthly anticipated new releases. Thank God for my bookish senses because I was right. This book gave me major “The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo” vibes which if you did not know is one of my all-time favorites. The story does have elements of flash backs, but it didn’t take over the whole story. I dare say the flash back scenes felt very glamorous showing small glimpses into Gigi’s life and her relationships. Also, the way we got to see New York through the characters eyes were nice as well.

Something that I found interesting is that the main characters are of age making them “young Adults”. The guys from the band including Milo are all nineteen. They are juggling between college, jobs, and making their own music. While our “Star” of the book, Evie is eighteen and still acts and talks like she still in high school. Which I’m not certain when she graduated or if she did. She does have a nice character growth, but you don’t see that until the very end. Even though this was Evie’s story I would have loved more chapters including the band itself. They were the highlight of the story for me and that includes Milo.


I continue to search inside my head, why did it feel weird giving this book five stars. The plot was good and even though the characters were very flawed I still enjoyed them. It came down to two key issues for me.

1. Classic YA Parental Issues

2. Miscommunication

Let’s be honest, I really do believe that problems one and two go hand in hand. Miscommunication that lasted a whole entire book will always be the bane of my existence. Theirs a particular scene at the end were Evie tells her parent that she feels that she has disappointed them. Of course, the parents were shocked. Really? Now that I think about it, the whole ending relies heavily on miscommunications. Even Gigi was acting sus running away from her emotions and not communicating either. Too many problems could have been solved if somebody spoke up and would have been truthful.

Overall, I really enjoyed the story enough to give it four stars. To all my contemporary lovers out there. I can recommend this book. This is perfect for a quick summer read. Plus, that ending?!? I was swooning so hard! Milo shall be added to my fictional bookish crushes.




If you made it this far comment Thanks for listening to my bookish ramble! Until Next time

Love, Nori


bottom of page